Term, holiday and closure dates

School term dates for 2020-21

Autumn term

Due to national guidance all schools resume on Tuesday 11 August 2020. As a result, the 2021 Summer holidays will start a week earlier, on 23 June.

  • Monday 10 August - Staff in service day
  • Tuesday 11 August - All resume
  • Friday 9 Oct 2020 - Last day for pupils and staff - mid term holiday
  • Monday 19 Oct 2020 - All resume
  • Thursday 12 Nov 2020 - Staff in service day
  • Friday 13 Nov 2020 - Staff in service day
  • Monday 30 Nov 2020 - St Andrew's Day holiday, school closed
  • Friday 18 Dec 2020 - Last day of term for pupils and staff

Winter term

  • Tuesday 5 Jan 2021 - All resume
  • Thursday 11 Feb 2021 - Last day for pupils - February holiday
  • Friday 12 Feb 2021 - Staff in service day
  • Wednesday 17 Feb 2021 - All resume
  • Thursday 1 Apr 2021 - Last day of term for pupils and staff

Summer term

  • Monday 19 Apr 2021 - All resume (Good Friday falls within Spring break)
  • Friday 30 Apr 2021 - Staff in service day
  • Monday 3 May 2021 - May Day holiday, school closed
  • Monday 7 June - Staff in service day (Secondary schools only)
  • Tuesday 8 June - Staff in service day (Secondary schools only)
  • Wednesday 23 Jun 2021 - Last day of term for pupils and staff

Please see below for information on the two additional in-service days in secondary schools on 7 and 8 June.

Casual holidays

Each learning community allocates two casual holidays for pupils and staff which are usually aligned to their local festivals.

Berwickshire

  • Wednesday 17 Feb 2021
  • Monday 31 May 2021

Eyemouth

  • Monday 19 Oct 2020
  • Wednesday 17 Feb 2021

Cheviot

  • Monday 19 Oct 2020
  • Wednesday 17 Feb 2021

Eildon East - Selkirk

  • Thursday 17 Jun 2021
  • Friday 18 Jun 2021

Eildon East - Earlston and Eildon West - Galashiels

  • Wednesday 17 Feb 2021
  • Monday 7 Jun 2021
  • Monday 14 Jun 2021 - Secondary school pupils only

Teviot and Liddesdale

  • Friday 11 Jun 2021
  • Monday 14 Jun 2021

Tweeddale

  • Friday 9 Oct 2020
  • Wednesday 17 Feb 2021

Additional in-service days

In February the Scottish Government confirmed that two additional inset/in-service days would be allocated for secondary schools in 2021 to assist teachers with the assessment, moderation and quality assurance process for awarding of SQA National Qualifications.

In the Scottish Borders these will take place on Monday 7 and Tuesday 8 June. Please note these are for secondary schools only.

As the Earlston and Galashiels clusters have local holidays on 7 June, for secondary pupils this will move to Monday 14 June.

Schools

Monday 7 June

Tuesday 8 June

Monday 14 June

Primary schools

Schools open (with exception of Earlston and Galashiels cluster schools due to local holiday)

Schools open

Schools open

Secondary schools

All pupils off

All pupils off

Schools open (with exception of EHS and Gala Academy, which will be closed in lieu of local holiday on 7 June)