Term, holiday and closure dates

School term dates for 2024-25

Autumn term

  • Monday 12 & Tuesday 13 August 2024 - staff resume, in service days
  • Wednesday 14 August 2024 - pupils resume

Mid-term holidays

  • Monday 14 October - Friday 18 October 2024
  • Monday 21 October 2024 In service day
  • Tuesday 22 October 2024 - Pupils resume
  • Monday 2 December 2024 - St Andrew's Day, schools closed
  • Tuesday 3 December 2024 - Pupils resume Eildon East (Selkirk), Eildon West (Galashiels), Teviot & Liddesdale, Berwickshire
  • Wednesday 4 December 2024 - Pupils resume Eyemouth, Cheviot, Eildon East (Earlston) and Tweeddale
  • Friday 20 December 2024 - last day of term

Christmas holidays

  • Monday 23 December 2024 - Friday 3 January 2025

Winter/Spring term

  • Monday 6 January 2025 - Term starts, all resume

Mid-term holiday

  • Friday 14 February 2025 - last day of term for pupils
  • Monday 17 to Friday 21 February 2025 - mid term break
  • Monday 17 February 2025 - Casual holiday for Berwickshire, Eyemouth, Cheviot, Eildon West (Galashiels) and Tweeddale Eildon East  (Earlston)/In service day for Eildon East (Selkirk). 
  • Monday 24 February 2025 -  Eildon East (Selkirk) and Teviot & Liddesdale all resume , In service day for Eildon West (Galashiels), Tweeddale, Berwickshire, Eyemouth and Cheviot
  • Tuesday 25 February 2025 -  Eildon West (Galashiels),  Tweeddale, Berwickshire, Eyemouth and Cheviot all resume
  • Friday 4 April 2025 - last day of term

Easter holidays

  • Monday 7 April to Friday 18 April 2025

Summer term

  • Monday 21 April 2025 - Term starts

Mid-term holidays

  • Monday 5 May 2025 - May Day holiday, schools closed
  • Tuesday 6 May 2025 - staff resume, In service day
  • Wednesday 7 May 2025 - pupils resume
  • Wednesday 25 June 2025 - last day of term

Casual holidays

Each learning community allocates two casual holidays for pupils and staff which are usually aligned to their local festivals.

Berwickshire

  • Monday 17 February 2025
  • Monday 26 May 2025

Eyemouth

  • Tuesday 3 December 2024
  • Monday 17 February 2025

Cheviot

  • Tuesday 3 December 2024
  • Monday 17 February 2025

Eildon East (Selkirk)

  • Thursday 12 June 2025
  • Friday 13 June 2025

Eildon West (Galashiels)

  • Monday 17 February 2025
  • Monday 2 June 2025

Teviot and Liddesdale

  • Friday 6 June 2025
  • Monday 9 June 2025

Tweeddale

  • Tuesday 3 December 2024
  • Monday 17 February 2025

Eildon East (Earlston)

  • Tuesday 3 December 2024
  • Monday 17 February 2025

Contact HQ Operations Team

Address: Council Headquarters
Newtown St. Boswells
Melrose
TD6 0SA

Telephone: 0300 100 1800