Our political make up

How we work

Our council is made up of 34 locally elected councillors covering 11 wards with the Scottish Borders.

The Leader of the councillors is David Parker who was elected in 2003.


Councillors meet regularly as a full council:

Our councillors are also on various committees which have different functions:


The day to day management of the council and its services is carried out by council staff (officers) and overseen by the Chief Executive.


We continually monitor our performance against a number of priorities and performance indicators, and the Single Outcome Agreement commits us to improving our performance and service quality.