Greener Gateway Community Awards

2023 Awards results

Representatives from towns and villages right across the Borders came together in September of 2023 to celebrate the winners of the Greener Gateway Community Awards.

Celebrating successful community groups and projects 

The celebration saw community groups and projects commended for their contribution to civic pride across a range of categories, acknowledging their efforts to make their community, vibrant, sustainable and environmentally friendly.

In the settlement categories, Eyemouth was crowned the winner of the Town Award, Chirnside claimed the Large Village Award and Birgham the Wee Village Award.

Brighter Selkirk were winners of the Borders Biodiversity Award with Cockburnspath Allotment Association having a very successful evening scooping both the Cultivating Communities Award and Sustainability Award. 

The Awards are designed to recognise and celebrate the civic pride, volunteering efforts and skills that help keep the towns and villages of the region looking so cared for.

Award winners

The full list of winners in each category were:

Town (population over 2,500)

  • Eyemouth - Gold
  • Jedburgh – Silver

Large Village (population between 1,001 and 2,500)

  • Chirnside – Silver 

Wee Village (maximum population of 300)

  •  Birgham – Gold

Border Biodiversity Award

  • Brighter Selkirk – Silver
  • Trustees of Bowden Common - Silver
  • Chirnside Common Good - Silver
  • Leitholm, Eccles & Birgham Community Council - Silver

Cultivating Communities Award

  • Cockburnspath Allotment Association – Gold
  • Burnfoot Community Futures – Gold 
  • Greener Peebles - Gold
  • Brighter Selkirk - Silver

Sustainability Award

  • Cockburnspath Allotment Association - Gold
  • Jedburgh Community Council - Silver
  • Brighter Selkirk - Silver

Customer Advice and Support Service

Address: Council Headquarters
Newtown St. Boswells

Telephone: 0300 100 1800

Greener Gateway Community Awards