Local government by-election results

Leaderdale and Melrose 2013

Following the resignation of Councillor Nicholas Watson, a by-election was held on Thursday 2 May 2013 for Electoral Ward number five, Leaderdale and Melrose.


Iain Gillespie from the The Borders Party was elected as the new Councillor for the Leaderdale and Melrose ward.

The nominated candidates

  • Iain Gillespie - The Borders Party
  • Harry Cummings - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Sherry Fowler - UK Independence Party (UKIP)
  • Rachael Hamilton - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • John Paton Day - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Robin Tatler - The Labour and Co-operative Party

Elections team

Office hours are Monday to Thursday 8:45am-5pm, Friday 8:45am-3:45pm

Address: Council Headquarters
Newtown St. Boswells

Telephone: 01835 825005