Local Government administration 2017

The local government elections were held on 4 May 2017 using the Single Transferable Vote. The vote count took place on 5 May.

Political make up of the council 2017

We have 34 councillors. The number of councillors elected for each party on 5 May 2017 was as follows:

Political party Number of seats
Conservative 15
Independent eight
Liberal Democrat two
Scottish National Party (SNP) nine

Administration announced

It was announced that we will be run by a Scottish Conservative Group and Independent Alliance Administration following the local election.

The counting process

  • the ballot papers were counted using an electronic counting system
  • the count took place from 9am on Friday, 5 May
  • the returning officer adjudicates doubtful ballot papers