Local government by-election results

Selkirkshire by-election 2018

Following the resignation of Michelle Ballantyne a by-election was held on Thursday 22 February 2018 for Selkirkshire. The count was held on Friday 23 February 2018.

The final turnout for the count, including postal votes was 45.1%.


Caroline Penman was elected as the new Councillor for Selkirkshire at stage seven.

The nominated candidates

  • Trevor Adams - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Jack Clark - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Kenneth Gunn - Independent
  • Barbra - Scottish Green Party
  • John Mitchell - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Caroline Penman - Independent
  • Scott Redpath - Scottish Labout Party

Ballot papers

There were 3496 valid ballots and 40 rejected ballot papers.