Local government by-election results

Hawick and Denholm 2014

Following the death of Councillor Zandra Elliot a by-election was held on Thursday 22 May 2014 for Electoral Ward number 10, Hawick and Denholm. The count was held on Friday 23 May 2014.

The final turnout for the count, including postal votes was 39.25%.


Watson McAteer (independent) was elected as the new Councillor for Hawick and Denholm.

The nominated candidates

  • Trevor Adams - Scottish Conservative and Unionist (SCUP)
  • Craig Bryson - Independent
  • Watson McAteer - Independent
  • Davie Paterson - Independent
  • Marion Short - Independent
  • Harry Stoddart - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Ian Turnbull - Scottish Liberal Democrats