Apply for an Early Learning and Childcare place

Expansion of hours in Early Learning and Childcare

The Scottish Government has committed to increasing the number of funded hours for all three and four year olds from 600 hours to 1140 hours by August 2020.

  • school term time (38 weeks per year) - this is equivalent of up to 30 hours a week
  • over 50 weeks per year - this is equivalent of up to 23 hours a week

Parents can take up as much or as little of these funded hours as they wish within a framework of no less than two and a half hours per day, no more than eight hours per day (30 hours per week) and no less than 38 weeks per year.

Find out more about the Scottish Government Early Learning and Childcare (ELC).

Programme for expansion

We have been phasing in the expanded hours across the Borders in school catchment communities from 2016 as funding has been released from the Scottish Government. 

All school catchment communities will be phased in from August 2020 when the legal entitlement changes. The order of phasing has been decided using the Scottish Borders Child Poverty Index

School catchement communities

Schools catchment communities currently able to access expanded hours in a setting of their choice such as schools, funded providers and childminders

  • Burgh PS
  • Burnfoot Community School
  • Chirnside PS
  • Coldingham PS
  • Coldstream PS
  • Eyemouth PS
  • Greenlaw PS
  • Kirkhope PS
  • Langlee PS
  • Philiphaugh Community School
  • Trinity PS
  • Walkerburn PS
  • Yarrow PS
  • Yetholm PS

From August 2019 children living in the following areas will be able to access expanded hours

Parents whose home postcode is in a school catchment community listed below will be able to access 1140 hours at the school nursery within these school catchment communities or any funded provider of their choice (check with providers what they can offer). Parents can choose to have their child with only one provider or have split/ blended placements across providers.  

  • Broomlands PS
  • Drumlanrig St Cuthbert's PS
  • Duns PS
  • Earlston PS
  • Edenside PS
  • Ednam PS
  • Fountainhall PS
  • Glendinning Terrace PS
  • Gordon PS  
  • Howdenburn PS
  • Kingsland PS
  • Knowepark PS
  • Lauder PS
  • Lilliesleaf PS
  • Morebattle PS
  • Newcastleton PS
  • Newtown PS
  • Reston PS
  • St Peter's PS
  • St Ronan's PS
  • Stirches PS
  • Tweedbank PS
  • Wilton PS

Schools due to expand from August 2020

  • Ancrum PS
  • Channelkirk PS
  • Clovenfords PS
  • Cockburnspath PS
  • Denholm PS
  • Eddleston PS
  • Gordon PS
  • Melrose PS
  • Priorsford PS
  • Sprouston PS
  • Stow PS
  • Swinton PS
  • West Linton PS
  • Westruther PS