Mental Disorder/Cognitive Impairment

A pilot scheme is currently running to extend the Blue Badge criteria to include:

"People, who as a result of a diagnosed mental disorder or cognitive impairment, have no awareness of danger from traffic and are likely to compromise their safety, or the safety of others."

Badges will be issued for a period of up to 3 years.

Eligibility for a blue badge

You will qualify for a Blue Badge if you or the person on whose behalf you are applying is aged three years or over and:

  1. Have a diagnosed mental disorder or cognitive impairment and can provide a letter from a Healthcare Professional that confirms this diagnosis AND
  2. A Healthcare Professional (excluding a GP), registered Social Worker or a Teacher can confirm that the applicant meets the definition by completing the questionnaire in Section 3 of the application form AND
  3. Are in receipt of one of the following qualifying benefits:
    • the middle or higher rate of the care component of Disability Living Allowance (DLA)
    • the lower or higher rate of Attendance Allowance (AA)
    • have been awarded at least eight point points in respect of the following Personal Independence Payment (PIP) activities:
      • activity 7 (communicating verbally)
      • activity 8 (reading and understanding signs, symbols and words)
      • activity 9 (engaging with other people face to face)

         ***Please note that points can be accumulated from each of these activities***

Applying for a blue badge

If you want to apply for a badge under this criteria you can download an application form.