Local government election results 2012

The Council elections were held on 3 May 2012 using the Single Transferable Vote. The vote count took place on 4 May.

Political make up of the council 2012

There are 34 councillors making up Scottish Borders Council. The number of councillors elected for each party on 3 May 2012 was as follows:

Political party Number of seats
Conservative 10
Scottish National Party (SNP) 9
Independent 7
Liberal Democrat 6
The Borders Party 2

Administration announced

It was announced that Scottish Borders Council will be run by an Independent, Scottish National Party (SNP) and Liberal Democrat Administration following the local election.

The counting process