Borders schools congratulated for their commitment to active travel

Councillors and pupils at Active School Travel Awards ceremony

Published: Friday, 22nd March 2019

Schools across the Borders have been recognised for their work to encourage parents and pupils to ditch the car and actively travel to school.

The Active School Travel Awards sees ten schools presented with a shield for having the highest percentage of pupils in their area who walk, cycle, scooter or park and stride.

The nine primary school winners are selected from each school cluster area, while the overall secondary school winner was Hawick High School who have picked up the award eight years in a row for consistently having the highest number of pupils walking and cycling to school.

Pupils and staff work closely with our Safer Routes to School team and local police officers, promoting different forms of active travel and highlighting road safety concerns.

The winners are decided using information from the National School Travel Hands Up survey, which sees every nursery and school in Scotland surveyed on their travel mode to school. The results are collated by Sustrans and published as an official statistic by the Scottish Government.

Active School Travel Award 2019 winners

  • Ancrum Primary
  • Broomlands Primary
  • Coldstream Primary
  • Eyemouth Primary
  • Knowepark Primary
  • Newtown Primary
  • Newcastleton Primary
  • St Peter's Primary
  • St Ronan's Primary
  • Hawick High

Judges were impressed with the range of innovative ways of promoting active travel and road safety that the pupils had come up with including,  

  • bollards and crossing mats that were installed at Ancrum
  • leaflet promoting safe parking created by pupils at Broomlands.
  • St Ronan’s worked with their local police officer to encourage good parking
  • safe crossing points for pupils and Knowepark has produced two videos

The pupils were congratulated by Councillor Gordon Edgar, Councillor Carol Hamilton (Executive Member Children and Young People) and Councillor Scott Hamilton (Children and Young People’s Champion).

Councillor Gordon Edgar, Executive Member Roads and Infrastructure

“As always, it is fantastic to see so many pupils, school staff and parents making significant efforts to play their part by encouraging active travel to and from schools right across the Borders.

“As a Council, we are encouraging people to be more energy efficient and these awards should instil in our young people the importance of doing everything we can to reduce our carbon footprint, as well as getting some exercise through travelling actively to school.

“Congratulations to all the schools who took part this year and especially our ten winners who are to be especially commended for their efforts.”

Images from Active School Travel Award ceremony

Photographs are available on our Flickr page. Eyemouth Primary was unable to attend.