Caroline Penman elected to represent Selkirkshire

Councillor Caroline Penman

Published: Friday, 23rd February 2018

Independent candidate Caroline Penman has been elected as a Councillor for the Selkirkshire Ward following a by-election yesterday.

Seven candidates contested the by-election, which took place following the resignation of Michelle Ballantyne.

Percentage poll

The overall turnout was 45.1%.

Councillor Penman joins Councillor Gordon Edgar and Councillor Elaine Thornton Nicol in representing the ward.

Electronic count Friday 23 February 2018

The electronic count took place this morning at Scottish Borders Council Headquarters, with Councillor Penman elected at stage seven.

Tracey Logan, Returning Officer 

“Both the electronic count and the voting yesterday ran very smoothly and I would like to thank all the staff involved across both days.”

Candidates standing

The candidates were:

  • Trevor Adams, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Jack Clark, Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Kenneth Gunn, Independent
  • Barbra Harvie, Scottish Green Party
  • John Mitchell, Scottish National Party
  • Caroline Penman, Independent
  • Scott Redpath, Scottish Labour Party

 The full breakdown of the result will be available on our website later today.

Images from the count

A selection of images from the count is available from our Flickr page.