Scottish Youth Parliament election results announced

MSYP Sanna Aziz, Georgia Pritchard, Tanya Thomson

Published: Tuesday, 21st March 2017

The declaration for the 2017-19 Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP) elections took place at our headquarters on Friday 17 March.

The voting period ran from 6-15 March which saw young people aged 12-25 across the region casting their votes using the single transferable voting system to elect a Member of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYP) for their constituency.

Scottish Borders representatives

The Scottish Borders has two constituencies - Midlothian South, Tweeddale & Lauderdale (one seat) and Ettrick, Roxburgh & Berwickshire (two seats) – with five candidates choosing to stand across the two areas.

Polling stations were provided in secondary schools as well as at the Borders College campus and Council headquarters. The counting of ballot papers took place on 16 March.

Voting turnout

Overall, there were 1,859 voters with a voting turnout of 67.99% in Midlothian South, Tweeddale & Lauderdale. 

The Ettrick, Roxburgh & Berwickshire constituency was an uncontested election.

Elected to represent the Scottish Borders were:

  • Sanna Aziz (MSYP Midlothian South, Tweeddale & Lauderdale; S5, Galashiels Academy)
  • Georgia Pritchard (MSYP Ettrick, Roxburgh & Berwickshire; S3, Jedburgh Grammar)
  • Tanya Thomson (MSYP Ettrick, Roxburgh & Berwickshire; S5, Hawick High)

Outgoing Scottish Borders MSYPs

  • Jack O’Hara (MSYP Midlothian South, Tweeddale & Lauderdale)
  • Coran McFarlane (MSYP Ettrick, Roxburgh & Berwickshire)
  • Cian Gullen (MSYP Ettrick, Roxburgh & Berwickshire)
  • Zee Timmins (MSYP Midlothian South, Tweeddale & Lauderdale)

Donna Manson, Service Director Children and Young People

“Being elected as a MSYP is a unique and privileged position which affords successful candidates a tremendous opportunity to raise awareness about the issues affecting both their own lives and those of the people they represent.

“I have no doubt that our newly elected members are more than up for the challenge and wish them well as they take up their new roles. I look forward to working with them and seeing the contribution they make as MSYPs, both at a local and national level.”

“The commitment and dedication that Jack, Coran, Cian and Zee have shown is to be commended and our thanks go to them for the outstanding way in which they have represented the children and young people of the Borders and, both individually and collectively, made such a positive contribution to the SYP.”

Scottish Youth Parliament

Find out about the work of the Scottish Youth Parliament

Further information

Images from the declaration are available from our Flickr page.

Five candidates stood across the two constituencies:

Midlothian South, Tweeddale & Lauderdale

  • Sanna Aziz S5, Galashiels Academy
  • Callum Barclay, S5, Earlston High
  • Emma Dickson, 2nd Year Law University of Stirling, West Linton

Ettrick, Roxburgh & Berwickshire

  • Georgia Pritchard, S3, Jedburgh Grammar
  • Tanya Thomson, S5, Hawick High