Area partnerships


View a map of the Eildon area.

About Eildon

Eildon is the largest of the five areas with a population of 35,190. It covers the main towns and villages of:

  • Galashiels (12,670)
  • Selkirk (5,586)
  • Melrose (2,457)
  • Tweedbank (2,073)
  • Lauder (1,773)
  • Earlston (1,766)
  • Newtown St Boswells (1,347)

The only other village with a population of over 500 is Stow (713). Together, these towns and villages account for 80 per cent of Eildon's population but many people live in smaller villages such as:

  • Heriot
  • Bowden
  • Ashkirk
  • Oxton
  • the Ettrick and Yarrow valleys

How can you get involved?

Area partnerships are meetings designed to help you find out more about local services, and give you the chance to tell us what you think. Eildon Area Partnership is chaired by Cllr Gordon Edgar and meets five times a year across the Eildon area. For further information contact the Democratic Services Officer online or by phone on 01835 826504.

Discussion outputs from previous Area Partnership meetings:

Eildon councillors

Community councils

There are 13 community councils in the Eildon area:

Asset Register

Our asset register for land and property in the Eildon area


Find out about events and venues in your local area.

Eildon area facts and figures

Our Strategic Assessment provides a useful and informative range of data and analysis for the Scottish Borders. The Area Profile provides a shorter summary.

Our Economy, Skills and Learning

More information on this theme can be found through the following links:

Our Health, Care and Wellbeing

More information on this theme:

Our Place

More information on this theme can be found through the following links:

Budget Consultation