Area partnerships


View a map of the Berwickshire area.

About Berwickshire

Berwickshire covers the main towns and villages of:

  • Eyemouth (3,540)
  • Duns (2,722)
  • Coldstream (1,867)
  • Chirnside (1,426)

Other settlements in the area with a population of 500 or over are:

  • Greenlaw (629)
  • Ayton (573)
  • Coldingham (549)

Berwickshire is the most rural of the five areas, with almost half the population living in settlements of less than 500 people or in isolated farms and hamlets.

Settlements with a population of less than 500 include:

  • Gordon
  • Reston
  • Westruther
  • Foulden
  • Swinton
  • Birgham
  • Cockburnspath

 In 2014 the total population of the area was estimated at 20,657.

How can you get involved?

Area partnerships are meetings designed to help you find out more about local services, and give you the chance to tell us what you think. Berwickshire Area Partnership is chaired by Councillor Jim Fullarton and meets five times a year across the Berwickshire area. For further information contact the Democratic Services Officer online or by phone on 01835 826503.

Discussion outputs from previous area partnership meetings:

Berwickshire Councillors

Community councils

There are 21 community councils in Berwickshire:

Asset Register

Our asset register for land and property in the Berwickshire area.


Find out about events and venues in your local area.

Berwickshire area facts and figures

Our Strategic Assessment provides a useful and informative range of data and analysis for the Scottish Borders. The Area Profile provides a shorter summary.

Our Economy, Skills and Learning

Our Health, Care and Wellbeing

Budget Consultation