## NOTICE OF ELECTION

## Scottish Parliamentary Election South Scotland Region

- 1. An Election is to be held for 7 members to serve in the Scottish Parliament for the South Scotland Region.
- Nomination papers can be obtained from the office of the Regional Returning Officer, Council Offices, English Street, Dumfries DG1 2DD during the times stated below and are also available to download via <u>www.dumgal.gov.uk/SPE2021</u>.
- Nomination papers must be delivered to the Regional Returning Officer at Council Offices, English Street, Dumfries DG1 2DD between the hours of **10am and 4pm** on any working day after the date of this notice but no later than **4pm** on **Wednesday 31 March 2021**. Due to Coronavirus restrictions please call 01387 260039 to arrange an appointment.
- 4. If the election is contested, the poll will take place on **Thursday 6 May 2021** between the hours of **7am and 10pm**.
- 5. The £500 deposit can be paid by BACs Transfer, or by means of a banker's draft from a drawer which carries on business as a banker in the United Kingdom. You can also make a debit/credit card payment by phoning 030 33 33 3000 but <u>only</u> during the dates and times for lodging Nominations. If you wish to pay by bank transfer, please contact the Elections Office for more details.
- 6. Applications or amendments of postal votes and proxies must reach the relevant Electoral Registration Officer at the address below by **5pm on Tuesday 6 April 2021**.
- 7. Applications to register to vote must reach the relevant Electoral Registration Officer by **12 midnight** on **Monday 19 April 2021**. Applications can be made online: https://www.gov.uk/register-to-vote.
- Cancellation of existing postal or proxy votes must reach the relevant Electoral Registration Officer at the address below by 5pm on Tuesday 20 April 2021.
- Applications to vote by proxy at this election must reach the relevant Electoral Registration Officer at the address below by 5pm on Tuesday 27 April 2021.

10. Applications to vote by emergency proxy at this election, i.e made after the **Tuesday 27 April** deadline on the grounds of; disability suffered after that deadline (or, for applicants who suffered a disability before the deadline, their disability meant that they could not reasonably have made an application in time), work/service reasons, following Scottish Government advice or the advice of a medical professional in relation to coronavirus, being detained in a hospital under the civil sections of the Mental Health (Care and Treatment) (Scotland) Act 2003 or for Scottish prisoners serving a sentence of 12 months or less must reach the relevant Electoral Registration Officer at the address below by **5pm on Thursday 6 May 2021**. To apply on the grounds of work/service, the person must have become aware that they cannot go to the polling station in person after **5pm on Tuesday 27 April 2021**.

For advice on registering to vote, postal or proxy voting, contact the relevant Electoral Registration Office below.

(= Stevenson.

15 March 2021

Gavin Stevenson Regional Returning Officer

## APPENDIX

Constituency	Responsible Local Authority	Electoral Registration Officer
Ayr BC	South Ayrshire	Ayrshire Valuation Joint Board 9 Wellington Square Ayr, KA7 1HL Tel: 01292 612221 ero@ayrshire-vjb.gov.uk
Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley CC	East Ayrshire	Ayrshire Valuation Joint Board 9 Wellington Square Ayr, KA7 1HL Tel: 01292 612221 ero@ayrshire-vjb.gov.uk
Clydesdale CC	South Lanarkshire	Lanarkshire Valuation Joint Board David Dale House 45 John Street Blantyre GLASGOW G72 0AA Tel: 0800 030 4333 <u>ero@lanarkshire-vjb.gov.uk</u>
Dumfriesshire CC	Dumfries and Galloway	Municipal Chambers Buccleuch Street Dumfries, DG1 2AD Tel: 030 33 33 3002 <u>ero@dumgal.gov.uk</u>
East Lothian CC	East Lothian	Lothian Valuation Joint Board 17A South Gyle Crescent Edinburgh EH12 9FL Tel: 0131 3442500 enquiries@lothian-vjb.gov.uk

\cont'd...

## APPENDIX cont'd

Constituency	Responsible Local Authority	Electoral Registration Officer
Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire CC	Scottish Borders	Old School Building Council Headquarters Newtown St. Boswells Melrose TD6 0SA Tel: 01835 825100 <u>ero@scotborders.gov.uk</u>
Galloway and West Dumfries CC	Dumfries and Galloway	Municipal Chambers Buccleuch Street Dumfries, DG1 2AD Tel: 030 33 33 3002 <u>ero@dumgal.gov.uk</u>
Kilmarnock and Irvine Valley CC	East Ayrshire	Ayrshire Valuation Joint Board 9 Wellington Square Ayr, KA7 1HL Tel: 01292 612221 <u>ero@ayrshire-vjb.gov.uk</u>
Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale CC	Scottish Borders	Old School Building Council Headquarters Newtown St. Boswells Melrose TD6 0SA Tel: 01835 825100 <u>ero@scotborders.gov.uk</u>