SCOTTISH BORDERS COUNCIL

Election of Councillors

Councillors are to be elected for each of the eleven wards of Scottish Borders Council. The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is as follows:

Ward	Number of Councillors to be elected
1. Tweeddale West	Three
2. Tweeddale East	Three
3. Galashiels and District	Four
4. Selkirkshire	Three
5. Leaderdale and Melrose	Three
6. Mid Berwickshire	Three
7. East Berwickshire	Three
8. Kelso and District	Three
9. Jedburgh and District	Three
10. Hawick and Denholm	Three
11. Hawick and Hermitage	Three

- Nomination forms can be obtained from the Election Office at Council Headquarters, Newtown St. Boswells, Melrose, TD6 0SA, by telephoning 01835 825005 or on the website at www.scotborders.gov.uk. The Election Office is open for the issue and delivery of nomination papers on weekdays from Tuesday, 14 March 2017 between 10am to 4pm.
- 2. Completed nomination forms **must** be delivered to the Returning Officer at the above address by **4pm** on **Wednesday, 29 March 2017**.
- 3. An election will be held in each contested ward and voting will take place between 7am and 10pm on **Thursday, 4 May 2017**.
- Applications to register to vote must reach the Electoral Registration Officer at Old School Building, Council Headquarters, Newtown St. Boswells, Melrose, TD6 0SA by Monday, 17 April 2017. Applications can be made online: https://www.gov.uk/register-to-vote.

Postal or proxy voting

- 1. Any elector may apply for a postal or proxy vote at this election.
- Applications, amendments or cancellations of postal votes must reach the Electoral Registration Officer, Old School Building, Council Headquarters, Newtown St. Boswells, Melrose, TD6 0QD by 5pm on Tuesday, 18 April 2017.
- 3. Applications to vote by proxy at this election **must** reach the Electoral Registration Officer at the above address by 5pm on **Tuesday**, **25** April **2017**.
- 4. Applications to amend or cancel existing proxy arrangements **must** reach the Electoral Registration Officer at the above address by 5pm **Tuesday**, **18 April 2017**.
- 5. Applications to vote by proxy at this election applied for on grounds of physical incapacity or for work/service reasons must reach the Electoral Registration Officer at the above address by 5pm on Thursday, 4 May 2017. The physical incapacity must have occurred after 5pm on Tuesday 25 April 2017. To apply on the grounds of work/service, the person must have become aware that they cannot go to the polling station in person after 5pm on Tuesday 25 April 2017.
- 6. For advice on postal or proxy voting, contact 01835 825100 or email ero@scotborders.gov.uk.

Printed and published by Tracey Logan, Returning Officer, Scottish Borders Council, Council Headquarters, Newtown St. Boswells, Melrose, TD6 0SA on 13 March 2017