SCOTTISH PARLIAMENTARY ELECTION

ELECTION OF REGIONAL MEMBERS OF THE SCOTTISH PARLIAMENT

SOUTH SCOTLAND REGION 5 May 2016

I, **Gavin Stevenson**, being the Regional Returning Officer for the Scottish Parliamentary Election for the South Scotland Region, **HEREBY GIVE NOTICE** that in the election of Regional Members to represent the **SOUTH SCOTLAND**, the votes cast were:-

PARTY DESCRIPTION AND DESCRIPTION (IF ANY) OF INDIVIDUAL CANDIDATES	VOTES CAST
Clydesdale and South Scotland Independent	1.485
RISE – Respect, Independence, Socialism	1,097
and Environmentalism - Scotland's Left	
Alliance	
Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party -	100,753
Ruth Davidson for a Strong Opposition	·
Scottish Green Party - Sarah Beattie-Smith for	14,773
South of Scotland	·
Scottish Labour Party - Choose kids, not cuts	56,072
Scottish Liberal Democrats	11,775
Scottish National Party (SNP) - Nicola	120,217
Sturgeon for First Minister	
Solidarity - Scotland's Socialist Movement -	1,294
Tommy Sheridan – IndyRef2	·
UK Independence Party (UKIP) -UKIP	6,726

The Regional Member seats for the South Scotland have been allocated and I therefore declare the following candidates elected as Members of the Scotlish Parliament for the South Scotland Region.

	NAME	PARTY
1	Claudia Beamish	for Scottish Labour
		Party
2	Joan McAlpine	for Scottish National
		Party (SNP)
3	Rachael Hamilton	for Scottish
		Conservative and
		Unionist Party
4	Emma Harper	for Scottish National
		Party (SNP)
5	Colin Smyth	for Scottish Labour
		Party
6	Paul Wheelhouse	for Scottish National
		Party (SNP)
7	Brian Whittle	for Scottish
		Conservative and
		Unionist Party

The number of ballot papers rejected and not counted at this election was: -

Want of Official Mark	0
Vote for more than one Party	103
Writing identifying Voter	3
Unmarked or uncertain	425

TOTAL ELECTORATE	533,815
TOTAL VOTES CAST	314,723
TOTAL VOTES REJECTED	531
PERCENTAGE POLL (votes counted)	59.0%

Gavin Stevenson
Regional Returning
Officer

6 May 2016