Declaration of Results

This report is the Declaration of Results script for Returning Officer.

Contest Name

Ward 10 - Hawick & Denholm

I will now declare the result of the election in the Ward 10 - Hawick & Denholm. There are 3 Councillors to be elected.

The electorate was 7,173 and the number of ballot papers received was 3,301 giving a percentage turnout of 46.0%. There were 30 rejected ballot papers. The quota of votes for a candidate to be elected was 818.

The number of first preference votes for each of the candidates was:

Candidate Name	Affiliation		Number of First Preference Votes
Trevor ADAMS	Independent	-	114
Catriona HAMILTON	Scottish Green Party		147
Kay HUGHES	Scottish Labour Party		120
Stuart MARSHALL	Independent		2,265
Clair RAMAGE	Independent		316
Neil RICHARDS	Scottish Conservative and Unionist		309
		Total	3.271

After application of the Election Rules, I declare that the following are elected as Councillors for the Ward 10 - Hawick & Denholm:

Candidate Name	Affiliation	Stage at which Candidate was Elected
Stuart MARSHALL	Independent	1
Clair RAMAGE	Independent	2
Neil RICHARDS	Scottish Conservative and Unionist	6

Scottish Borders Council

Declaration of Results

This report is the Declaration of Results script for Returning Officer.

Of the total ballot papers, the following were rejected and not counted on account of:

2011 Order Rule 44(1)	Adjudication Rejection Reason	Number
(a)	Which does not bear a unique identifying mark in a form that is capable of being read by electronic means	0
(b)	On which a number standing alone is not placed so as to indicate a first preference for some candidate	3
(c)	On which the figure "1" standing alone indicating a first preference is set opposite the name of more than one candidate	1
(d)	On which anything is written or marked by which the voter can be identified except the printed number and other unique identifying mark on the back	0
(e)	Which is unmarked or void for uncertainty	26
	Total	30