Scottish Borders Council

Political make up of Scottish Borders Council

Scottish Borders Council is elected under proportional representation. There are 34 Councillors in 11 multi-member wards.  The political make up of Scottish Borders Council is:

Political party Number of Councillors Group Leader
Scottish Conservative and Unionists (SCUP)
9 Councillor Michelle Ballantyne
Scottish National Party (SNP) 9 Councillor Stuart Bell
Independents (Ind) 10 
Councillor Sandy Aitchison
Liberal Democrats (Lib Dem) 6 Councillor Catriona Bhatia

Political control

The Council is controlled by a coalition comprising:

Political leaders

The following posts are chosen by the Administration

The Leader of the Council is David Parker (Ind)

The Depute Leaders are John Mitchell (SNP) and Catriona Bhatia (Lib Dem)

The Convener of Scottish Borders Council is Graham Garvie (Lib Dem)

The Vice Convener is Jim Brown (SNP)


Scottish Borders Council

Council Headquarters Newtown St. Boswells Melrose TD6 0SA

Tel: 0300 100 1800


For more Contact Details


Find your nearest